login   |    register
Photography
Questions about shooting your models and dioramas? Ask here.
Feature: Making “Internet Friendly” Pictures
Roadkill
Visit this Community
Antwerpen, Belgium
Joined: June 09, 2002
KitMaker: 2,029 posts
Armorama: 822 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 12:29 AM UTC
Putting pictures on the web, for some a breeze for other cheer hell.
Robert has written a clear explanation on how to do this, so let those picture come, you have no excuse anymore.

You can find the article here
Kencelot
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
Armorama: 2,804 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 01:41 AM UTC
Very nice little article. But, what if someone does not have Photoshop?
FAUST
#130
Visit this Community
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Joined: June 07, 2002
KitMaker: 8,797 posts
Armorama: 4,190 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 02:02 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Very nice little article. But, what if someone does not have Photoshop?




Yeah then you will not get any smarter from this article (sorry) but I took one of the most generic programs in use these days.. But everybody who want to make an add-on to this article about another program please feel free to do so

Folgore
Visit this Community
Canada
Joined: May 31, 2002
KitMaker: 1,109 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 02:39 AM UTC
Ken, the true Photoshop is very expensive (like $1300 CDN), but you can download it for 30 days at the Adobe website. They also sell Photoshop Elements for less ($150 CDN) which, obviously doesn't include as much. I can't remember if you can save for the web and all that with it. Conversely, another company makes a program called Paint Shop that sells for the same price as Photoshop Elements, but has more stuff. It's a little hard to get used to if you have used Photoshop a lot, but Paint Shop works very well, so you might want to look into that.

Nic
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
New Hampshire, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,490 posts
Armorama: 6,577 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 08:52 AM UTC
Has anyone use Adobe's Photoshop Elements 2.0? I assume this is very much like the Photoshop Lite product they use to offer. I imagine it has many of the basic photo editing features the full program has.

Here is more info:
http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshopel/main.html

Cheers,
Jim
Kencelot
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
Armorama: 2,804 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 10:20 AM UTC
I did not want my comment to sound off, I was just wondering what a Joe would do if they did not have PS.
Yes, you are correct that Adobe's can be downloaded and used for 30 days as a trial run.
I have and use both Adobe Photoshop 6.0 w/Image Ready 3.0 and Jasc's Paint Shop Pro 7 w/Animation Shop 3 . I would be lost w/o em.
Folgore
Visit this Community
Canada
Joined: May 31, 2002
KitMaker: 1,109 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 10:42 AM UTC
It was still a good question, Ken. And now others know what else is out there.

Nic
Potroast
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Joined: May 20, 2003
KitMaker: 90 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 11:51 AM UTC
Hey all...Follow this link for a free photo editor. It's free and has a lot of the features that are needed to modify scanned or digitized images.

For the download you'll need to enter in an E-mail address (you'll be sent a registration key) and personal information, but it doesn't need to be accurate for the download. I use a bogus Hotmail account for stuff like this. Good program with no spyware.

Greg B.
Jeepney
Visit this Community
Philippines
Joined: July 22, 2002
KitMaker: 1,538 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2003 - 12:39 PM UTC
I've been using Photoshop for a few years and I never thought of converting my uploaded images to GIFs #:-) Very nice article Robert!
kkeefe
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
Joined: May 12, 2002
KitMaker: 1,416 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 27, 2003 - 01:17 AM UTC
I compress my photos as far as I dare to within MicroSoft Image Composer, and I create my .GIF images with a combination of Image Composer and Adobe Illustrator. I do seem to have better luck with GIFs in Adobe Illustrator.
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
Joined: May 05, 2002
KitMaker: 8,074 posts
Armorama: 3,293 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 27, 2003 - 10:01 AM UTC
You should be able to resize your images in just about any photo editing program. Look through the menu options for "Resize" There should be a dialogue box with the option dictate horizontal and vertical size.